Maiden name for Ann WILLIAMS (c1754)

2 replies [Last post]
Ian PMP

Hello everyone:

I’m writing from Brisbane, Australia and this is my first time in the forum. I’ve just discovered I have Shropshire roots and have already hit a snag in my research.

I was wondering if someone would be able to help me to confirm the maiden name of Ann WILLIAMS who (according to the marriage bond document for her second marriage to Richard AYRES of Kidderminster in Oswestry) was a 29 year old widow on 26 Apr 1783. There is a possible candidate in FS but I’m not 100% certain she is the right Ann.

I’m assuming the surname WILLIAMS that she used when marrying Richard was the surname of her first husband, who I further assume died shortly before the 1783 marriage.

Thanks in advance for any help. I should be able to make some progress once I get that name.

Best regards, Ian

Michael J Hulme

Hello Ian

You can view the actual marriage entry on the Find my Past (subscription) web site in their collection of Shropshire documents. If you don't have a subscription try your local library or archives - they may have a subscription. Search for Shropshire Marriages and then Richard AYRES and the date.

I see that the marriage was witnessed by Richard COTTON and Robert CONWAY but Robert CONWAY also witnessed several other marriages so he was probably a Church Warden or similar.  It is a long shot but it might be worth exploring the possibility that Richard COTTON was a relative.

The Oswestry Library has a card index of names from their local newspaper.  You could send a similar email to them to ask if they can see an entry in the newspaper index that might be connected with your family.

Did Ann have any children from her first marriage?  If so, their birth years should give you a clue as to the date of her first marriage and the date her first husband died but I fear you have a difficult task with this.

All the best.

Michael

Ian PMP

Thanks for your reply Michael, very kind of you.