Shropshire Family History Society

The Shropshire Family History Society was founded in 1979 to provide a meeting place in Shropshire for all those interested in Family History. The Society is now a Registered Charity (No: 514014) with around two thousand members from all round the world.

Membership is open to anyone interested in family history and non‑members are welcome to visit one of our meetings, for a small fee, to become familiar with our activities.

Find out more about the Society.
Get started researching your ancestors.

 

News

Posted: Sunday, 10-11-2019
Please note that the date for the November talk which was previouly shown as 12/11/...
Posted: Tuesday, 15-10-2019
Currently there are 4 vacancies on the committee and that number will rise to 5 in...
Posted: Tuesday, 15-10-2019
Devon FHS is hosting a Mayflower International Genealogical Conference on 29/08/2020...
Posted: Tuesday, 15-10-2019
QFHS is inviting applications for a Margaret Bennett research award to support...
Posted: Wednesday, 17-04-2019
The Probate Service have announced an 85% reduction in the cost of post 1858 wills...

Events

Tuesday, 19-11-2019
Perhaps a family member played his part in the defeat...
Tuesday, 17-12-2019
Ray Farlow joins us to delve into his extensive...
Tuesday, 21-01-2020
Advolly joins us to take an amusing look at how...
Tuesday, 18-02-2020
Peter joins us to take us on a pictorial ramble around...
Tuesday, 17-03-2020
Alan joins us to look at the role of the Guilds and...

Forum

Monday, 4-11-2019
I have found ATCHERLEY in my family tree and would be...
Heather Parrish
Saturday, 2-11-2019
Hi Jen Could you tell me who your ancestors were who lived...
Victoria Embrey
Saturday, 2-11-2019
Hi Mike Thank you for your help. I did wonder if that was...
Victoria Embrey
Saturday, 2-11-2019
Lots of Broughalls in Ruyton XI Towns ,tell me if you need...
daisy
Thursday, 31-10-2019
Hello Vicky Looking at the original 1881 census page images...
Michael J Hulme