Shropshire Family History Society

The Shropshire Family History Society was founded in 1979 to provide a meeting place in Shropshire for all those interested in Family History. The Society is now a Registered Charity (No: 514014) with around two thousand members from all round the world.

Membership is open to anyone interested in family history and non‑members are welcome to visit one of our meetings, for a small fee, to become familiar with our activities.

Find out more about the Society.
Get started researching your ancestors.

 

News

Posted: Thursday, 21-07-2016
August edition of Family Tree Magazine UK is out now and contains a 2 page spread on...
Posted: Tuesday, 17-05-2016
We also have a couple of vacancies for volunteers From Andrew Davidson, Senior...
Posted: Friday, 29-04-2016
Following a consultation on opening hours at Shropshire Council’s Shropshire...
Posted: Monday, 18-04-2016
SHROPSHIRE            ...
Posted: Friday, 8-04-2016
Association of Genealogical & Researchers in Archives (AGRA) will be holding...

Events

Saturday, 15-10-2016
The Friends of Shropshire Archives have organised a...
Tuesday, 18-10-2016
Subject - "Commons, Custom and Cottages in...
Tuesday, 15-11-2016
Subject - "Secrets of Shrewsbury Cemetery"...
Tuesday, 20-12-2016
Subject - "Researching Your Soldier Ancestor...

Forum

Tuesday, 27-09-2016
David, There is a detailed, almost verbatim, report of the...
Peter John
Tuesday, 27-09-2016
Hello David A reference to the inquest on Sydney AXFORD (...
Michael J Hulme
Wednesday, 21-09-2016
This might be of some interest Phil. http://search....
Barbara Handley
Monday, 19-09-2016
Hi Cliff, are you looking on FindMyPast, because I thought...
GrahamOfSalop
Sunday, 18-09-2016
Thanks Mike. I know the place name thing is a little...
Cliff Jones