Shropshire Family History Society

The Shropshire Family History Society was founded in 1979 to provide a meeting place in Shropshire for all those interested in Family History. The Society is now a Registered Charity (No: 514014) with around two thousand members from all round the world.

Membership is open to anyone interested in family history and non‑members are welcome to visit one of our meetings, for a small fee, to become familiar with our activities.

Find out more about the Society.
Get started researching your ancestors.

 

News

Posted: Monday, 18-06-2018
Rosalind Crone is a lecturer in history at The Open University. Prison History (www....
Posted: Thursday, 10-05-2018
Poor Law records aren’t necessarily the most obvious place to start when...
Posted: Monday, 30-04-2018
26th May, The Shropshire County Agricultural Show, Showground, Berwick Road,...
Posted: Saturday, 3-03-2018
Just to clarify that Shropshire Family History Society will NOT be attending any...
Posted: Tuesday, 20-02-2018
Following a lot of hair-tearing, the Member's Interests section of our web-site...

Events

Tuesday, 19-02-2019
Subject - "Market Towns and Villages of Northwest...
Tuesday, 19-03-2019
Subject - "the Shrewsbury Drapers Company 1462-...
Tuesday, 16-04-2019
Subject - "1644 – the Year that Thomas Mytton...
Friday, 26-04-2019
Venue: Alexandra Palace, London Time 10AM-4:30PM More...
Tuesday, 21-05-2019
Subject - "500 Years of History in Wood – the...

Forum

Saturday, 16-02-2019
From previous SFHS MessageBoard If you look at the 1881...
morrisonman
Friday, 15-02-2019
Hello David To add to the above comment it would help us to...
Michael J Hulme
Friday, 15-02-2019
Details have been sent to Phil. Mike
Michael J Hulme
Friday, 15-02-2019
It would help if you could say whereabouts he was from.
SFHS WebMaster
Friday, 15-02-2019
Hi Graham, Yes I can send you a copy. I'll ask Mike for...
PhilPoole