Shropshire Family History Society

The Shropshire Family History Society was founded in 1979 to provide a meeting place in Shropshire for all those interested in Family History. The Society is now a Registered Charity (No: 514014) with around two thousand members from all round the world.

Membership is open to anyone interested in family history and non‑members are welcome to visit one of our meetings, for a small fee, to become familiar with our activities.

Find out more about the Society.
Get started researching your ancestors.

 

News

Posted: Monday, 18-06-2018
Rosalind Crone is a lecturer in history at The Open University. Prison History (www....
Posted: Thursday, 10-05-2018
Poor Law records aren’t necessarily the most obvious place to start when...
Posted: Monday, 30-04-2018
26th May, The Shropshire County Agricultural Show, Showground, Berwick Road,...
Posted: Saturday, 3-03-2018
Just to clarify that Shropshire Family History Society will NOT be attending any...
Posted: Tuesday, 20-02-2018
Following a lot of hair-tearing, the Member's Interests section of our web-site...

Events

Saturday, 6-10-2018
Were your ancestors Ag Lab's, or did they run the...
Sunday, 7-10-2018
Were your ancestors Ag Lab's, or did they run the...
Tuesday, 16-10-2018
Subject - "The Poor Law in Shropshire”...
Tuesday, 20-11-2018
Subject - "Battles and Sieges of the Anglo-Boer...
Tuesday, 18-12-2018
Subject - "All about Christmas” ...

Forum

Saturday, 22-09-2018
Kathleen, thanks. I looked up the Daubeney family--barony...
almagary
Wednesday, 19-09-2018
Have you considered a connection between Edward HALL and...
Kathleen B
Tuesday, 18-09-2018
Mike, thanks very much for looking for Northall. I asked...
almagary
Monday, 17-09-2018
  Philip, Emigration details for Thomas Tench First...
michaeltench
Monday, 17-09-2018
Philip Realise I have a wrong birth date for Albert Eric...
michaeltench