LLOYD family of Bishops Castle 1780 - 1830

2 replies [Last post]
Peterlloyd

Solomon Morgan LLOYD died in Westminster in 1854. The 1851 census shows he was a Hairdresser by trade and was born in Bishops Castle c1783. I believe he was the son of William and Hannah LLOYD and the brother of Henry Morgan LLOYD , my Great Great Great Grandfather (who was also a Hairdresser). Any information on the family would be appreciated. Are there any burial records available on line for Bishops Castle ?

PhilPoole

Peter,

Do you subscribe to either the Ancestry or FindMyPast websites? If you do then on FindMyPast you can find Solomon's baptism in Bishop's Castle in 1783, the son of William & Hannah Lloyd. FindMyPast also has the Shropshire Parish Registers available, and includes a burial record for William Lloyd (1751-1836) and Hannah Lloyd (1755-1835). both in Bishop's Castle. Without knowing more about your family I'm guessing this could be Solomon's parents.

On the Ancestry website there is a 1818 record for Solomon as a Hairdresser in St. James, London in 1818, and there is also a very extensive family tree which includes Solomon's parents, his seven children and at least one generation below them.

If you don't subscribe let me know and I'll see if I can put you in touch with the owner of the Ancestry family tree.What is your relationship to Solomon?

Regards, Phil Poole

Peterlloyd